Celia Costume

Want a fun costume that doesn’t make you look like a circus tent or a hooker?

Kids loved this Celia costume, and wanted to touch the snakes on my head.
For those who haven’t watched the movie, Celia is the cyclops gorgan girlfriend of Mike Wazowski in Monster’s Inc.

 

The dress was from eBay and was practically perfect in every way.  I was lucky.
The lace overlay gave it some texture and the color was great.

 

For the neck, I ordered some mint green feathers from etsy and sewed them to the collar.
I bought two pair of purple leggings, one for my arms and one for my legs.  I wish I had found lavender. Sigh.

 

For the arms, I cut the leggings right near the panty line and sewed them into the sleeve holes.
That way, I wouldn’t have to fiddle with them later.

 

The snake wig is made of 5 snakes, 2 heads and 3 tails on one side, 3 heads and 2 tails on the other side.
I bend 5 clothing hangers the way I wanted the snakes to lay, then covered them with bunting.

I went to a second hand store and bought a lavender shirt, then cut it into strips.  The strips were stitched around the bunted hangers, with extra bunting to shape the heads.

 

The snake eyes are pearls (craft store) with Sharpie pupils.  They were glued on with hot glue.

The tounges are pink velvet ribbon, forked at the end, and sewn onto the nose.
Nostrils were Sharpied onto the fabric.

 

They eye is a clear purple, rubber ball cut in half.  Paint half of it white and paint an iris onto it. Use the left over half to fashion an eyelid.  I found some huge lashes from the Halloween store and…
It stays on with a stretch string punched through each side of the eye.


Well, there you have it.  Remember to get lavender tights if possible, and to paint your face lavender to match your gorgan skin!  Celia is a beautiful monster!

Happy haunting!


Leave a comment